my adventures in traveling, cooking, and photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I think I found a sign…. July 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — potsandplanes @ 1:03 pm

(I know I’ve been gone for a long while, lots of things going on, the quilt is finished though and I’ll post pictures soon (hopefully).)

So for the past couple of years I’ve talked to my friends and family about wanting to run in a marthon.  I know a few people who have done this and I’ve always looked on them with envy that they were able to do something that pushes them to the limits like that.  I did buy a book on running just because I haven’t done much of it since middle school or high school thanks to my asthma.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE to run, its just that my lungs don’t, and that makes it a little problematic.  I DO know, however, that when I run I want to run to raise money and support a cause.  In my mind it would be either cancer, heart disease, or diabetes because my grandfather had all three.

Yesterday when I checked my mail, there was a letter from the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and it was about informational meetings for their  Team in Training program which is their marathon fundraisers.  I haven’t signed up for any mailings from this organization and have never attended any of their functions, but I feel as if I am supposed to do this.  Someone from my workplace has a family member battling leukemia and my heart goes  out to them on a daily basis.  I have already signed up for the kick off meeting in East Lansing and am so excited to be a part of this.  There are a few events I could choose from, the two it came down to though because of timing were the Walt Disney World Marathon – which would be great but I go to Florida a lot, and the one that I am hoping to do which is the P.F. Chang’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Arizona Marathon

There are a few reasons why I want to do this,

  1. I want to help a cause thats important to me and that I feel needs and deserves support.  Like many people today, I have seen way too many people die from cancer and have seen many of my friends and family have to say goodbye to loved ones too early.
  2. I REALLY want to get back into shape.  By joining the running club, I am not going to have any excuses to not get out there and move.  I’ll also have a coach and team members who will be going through the whole process with me which is great because I know this will probably be one of the hardest things I will ever put my body through.
  3. Because someone who has an impact on my life is going through this right now, this run has a personal feel as well.

I will be sure to be using this to keep my friends and family posted on my progress as well as fundraising efforts *wink wink*  But thats still a ways off…

Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

